So Sad Today by Melissa Broder

If I could give a 10 stars for this book, I’d have done it already. Multiple times. I often read young adult novels and fiction, this is actually the first non-fiction book I’ve read that stuck to my head.

It started out on Twitter. I was scrolling and came across this tweet that made me laugh and then cry because I could relate so much it hurt and then I started to follow that account ever since. I follow the Twitter account @sosadtoday for quite a while now and just found out that she has published a book of personal essays. I don’t know what got to me but I told myself that I have to get that book right away (plus the cover looks aesthetically pleasing). There’s something about her thoughts about life that I can relate to. This book of personal essays really opened my mind about things and I know I will never understand what she’s been through but somehow, I felt like I’ve been through that too.

It doesn’t tell the reader to be sad. It just explains why/howย you are sad. At least that’s what I understood while reading the essays. At first It was weird because of how much I can relate but later on, I just went along with it. All the weirdness, openness and rawness of it.

โœจ Pauline

Published by

earthtopauline

Pauline is a 22-year old blogger from the Philippines who loves to capture the present through natural light and her 50mm lens. She likes portrait photography, coffee, reading books and baking cupcakes.

4 thoughts on “So Sad Today by Melissa Broder”

Leave a Reply

